From 1887 to 1967 this building housed the photographic firm founded in 1869 by George Perry Abraham J.P., F.R.P.S., and continued by two of his sons George Dixon and Ashley Perry who were internationally known as mountain and landscape photographers and pioneer rock climbers.
These celebrated ‘Keswick brothers’ made many first ascents at home and abroad and popularised the sport by their illustrated books and lectures. In 1907 Ashley was elected the first president of the ‘Fell and Rock Climbing Club’ and George was made an honorary member.
In 1957, whilst working as a senior instructor at the Ullswater Outward Bound School, George Fisher opened a small shop at 17 Lake Road, Keswick. Subsequently he took over these premises in 1967 upon the retirement of Geoffrey Abraham, the grandson of George Abraham, the photographer.
In 1947 the Keswick Mountain Rescue Team was formed, and over the years George as Team Leader was involved in hundreds of rescues. In 1980 he was honoured with an M.B.E. for services to mountain rescue. Prior to 1947, rescues were undertaken by the police, not all of whom had the necessary experience or equipment to do the job.
George always felt most strongly that everybody who ventured out onto the fells should be properly equipped, especially in respect of footwear, yet he recognised the financial implications of equipping children with growing feet and once-a-year users. Consequently he set up the George Fisher Hire Service and to this day it is one of the busiest departments in the store.
After George’s retirement in 1989, the entire building was refurbished and extended, and it became one of the largest independent stores in the outdoor trade, and by building on George’s passion we have been acclaimed as one of the best in the world.